Parent Organization: Student Involvement & Leadership Center

The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington DC, the National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997.

Here at the Univeristy of Kansas (KU), there are 7 total active organizations:

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. - Upsilon chapter (active)

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. - Delta chapter (active)

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. - Mu chapter (active)

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. - Rho Eta chapter (active)

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. - Psi Chapter (active)

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. - Zeta Omicron chapter (active)

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. - Omega Theta chapter (active)

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. - Eta Iota chapter (inactive)

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. - Colony (inactive)



Address Student Involvement & Leadership Center
Campus, KS 66045
Phone Number P:(785) 864-4872